They may stay on the line for a few minutes to listen for breathing or background noise. We also use third-party cookies that help us analyze and understand how you use this website. We can send a signal to your phone after 10 seconds. If you want to impress your fellow firefighters as a new Im Mike, a career firefighter/paramedic and the creator behind the FirefighterNOW YouTube Channel (if you haven't seen it, you should head over and check it out). When a 911 call is lost, its called a dropped 911 and is automatically referred to police to investigate. Open your iPhone Settings. I have been a Firefighter in Northern California since 2012 and a Paramedic since 2008. This situation proves how efficient the police are at getting to a potential crime scene quickly so they can save lives. Do not let your children play with your phone. If you cancel this call, you will probably get a visit from a law enforcement officer who will want to see that you are fine. Here are some tips that will prevent misdials not only to 911, but to friends, family, and colleagues too. As an option to enhance personal safety, Stanford is offering students, staff and faculty a mobile phone application called SafeZone, at no cost. Of all the numbers you could have misdialed, why did it have to be 911? Okay, so youre going to talk to the dispatcher. I've accidentally called 911 to have them call me back and leave a message telling me if it's an emergency that I should call back and that if it isn't that I should call the non-emergency line. However, the majority of North American PASPs operate on the silent call protocol. When you call, the call-taker will ask you what you need to do. Sometimes people accidentally pocket dial their local 911 call center using this feature. However, if you are going out of your way to waste their time or make a prank call the 911 operator may hang up on you. Explain that you accidentally called 911 and there is no emergency. However, many 911 call centers are r